हिन्दी (Hindi)

India tour of Sri Lanka to start July 13

By Bet Barter

June 8, 2021

The dates have been announced for India’s much-awaited limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka. India will play three ODIs, and as many T20Is against Sri Lanka from 13th July to 25th July.

The three ODIs will be played on 13th, 16th, and 18th July. The T20Is follow the ODIs and will be played on July 21, 23, and 25 respectively.

The Indian players who are part of the England tour will not play in the Sri Lanka tour. Players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Ajinkya Rahane will not participate in this tour. Thereby, a second-string Indian team would go for the tour of the island nation with a new captain.

Shikhar Dhawan and Hardik Pandya are being considered to lead the Indian team for the limited-overs tour. Along with them, Shreyas Iyer and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are other captaincy options.

According to ICC ODI rankings, India currently occupies the third spot while Sri Lanka is in the ninth position after their defeat against Bangladesh.

Rahul Dravid will coach the Indian team on the Sri Lanka tour

Rahul Dravid will coach the Indian team in Sri Lanka. Ravi Shastri will be with the Indian Team on the England tour.

Rahul Dravid has previous experience working with the Indian team. He was India’s batting consultant during the England tour in 2014. Moreover, he has also worked with almost all the India A players. So the young player's comfort and familiarity with him would prove to be an added advantage in the tour.

Before being appointed as the NCA head in 2019, Dravid coached India’s U-19 and India A teams. It was under his guidance that the U-19 side won the World Cup in 2018. Dravid is often credited for the phenomenal bench strength of the Indian team. He worked well with the youngsters and modeled them perfectly for the national team.

The Indian squad for the England tour landed in the UK on 3rd July. The team is currently undergoing a strict quarantine at an on-site hotel in England. During the tour, India would play the WTC final against New Zealand and a five-test series against England.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!