हिन्दी (Hindi)

India vs Australia 2020: Win toss, win Test! Can Virat Kohli secure the sensational record at Adelaide?

December 18, 2020

Written By,

Bet Barter

A stunning fact came into the picture when Virat Kohli won his 26th toss as Team India’s Test captain. Team India has never lost a Test match when Virat Kohli has won the toss to date. Will the legacy continue in the ongoing battle? Previously, in 25 Test matches when Virat Kohli won the toss, the Indian team won 21 games and drew four.

The captain’s luck with the toss began with the Test series against Sri Lanka at Colombo in August 2015. In that match, India defeated Sri Lanka by 278 runs. The unbeaten streak also includes the three famous wins in Johannesburg, Adelaide, and Melbourne back in 2018.

Most of the wins in the list have been claimed at home. India’s most recent victory after Kohli won the toss was a Test match against South Africa in Ranchi. The hosts won by the game an innings and 202 runs.

Virat Kohli’s winning record is under threat at Adelaide

The Indian skipper is going to find it highly difficult to maintain his record after winning the toss against Australia at Adelaide. The Adelaide face-off is India’s first Day-Night Test on Australian soil. The hosts already have themselves an unbeaten record to defend. The baggy green side has never lost a pink-ball Test at Adelaide to date.

India off to a poor start at Adelaide as Shaw gets a duck

Australia’s pace bowler, Mitchell Starc is currently the leading wicket-taker for Australia in pink-ball Tests. He got his side to the perfect start in the first Test against India. The 30-year-old dismissed Prithvi Shaw in the second ball of the match.

Justifying his decision to bat first at Adelaide, Kohli stated that the wicket looked nice and hard. Therefore, the Indian team will look to put a good score on the board.

Kohli further added that the team had prepared well. It is because of the two tour games, and the side is looking forward to putting early pressure on Australia.

India Playing XI

Virat Kohli (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

Australia Playing XI

Tim Paine (capt&wk), Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Bet Barter

In today’s net-savvy world it has become common for any business to have a website which they use mostly for advertising their products and services.