हिन्दी (Hindi)

India vs South Africa: Big blow to India ahead of the first match

By BetBarter Staff

June 9, 2022

Team India is ready to kick off their T20I home series against South Africa on Thursday (9 June 2022). However, the men in blue faced a big blow as their captain, KL Rahul was ruled out on 8 June due to an injury. In his absence, Wicket keeper batter Rishabh Pant was given the captaincy duty along with his new deputy, Hardik Pandya.

Team India is on the verge of a world record as they can extend their 12-match winning streak to 13 by winning the first match of the series. Hence, a big test awaits Rishabh and his team against the Proteas. Not only captaincy, but the absence of KL Rahul also created a vacant place in the opening position. Even, Rahul took his Twitter account a posted a heartfelt

Message to his fans with hope for coming back stronger. Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad both will be the best option for this opening role. Even, Venkatesh Iyer can be another option. Though all three had a bad Indian T20 League recently.

Another important player in Kuldeep Yadav will also be missing out on  the series.

Here is the Tweet from KL Rahul

“We just have to see how much playing time we will be able to give him.” – Rahul Dravid

Speaking at the press conference on Tuesday (7 June), Rahul Dravid said that it will be impossible to give everyone a chance as the squad is quite big. He said: “We just have to see how much playing time we will be able to give him. We have a big squad, not possible to have everyone in the playing XI. He is exciting, certainly bowls quick, and has pace,”

Team India will look to use Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya in the middle overs while bowlers like Avesh Khan and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar were fighting hard to get selected for the place. 

Probale XI for Team India

  1. Ishan Kishan
  2. Ruturaj Gaikwad
  3. Shreyas Iyer
  4. Rishabh Pant (WK, C)
  5. Hardik Pandya (VC)
  6. Dinesh Karthik
  7. Axar Patel
  8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  9. Harshal Patel
  10. Avesh Khan/ Arshdeep Singh
  11. Yuzvendra Chahal

India’s squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain)(WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik.