हिन्दी (Hindi)

Indian T20 League 2022: Chennai vs Kolkata – Match 1: Head to head Records & Stat

By BetBarter Staff

March 25, 2022

Chennai and Kolkata will kick-off the 15th season of the Indian T20 League 2022. They were the finalists last year with the former winning the title. They beat Kolkata by 27 runs to clinch their fourth title after winning three times in 2010, 2011, and 2018.

Chennai vs Kolkata Head to Head:

Chennai are way ahead of the Kolkata team in the last 14 years. The Yellow Brigade has won 17 matches out of 26 games they have played against the Men In Purple and Gold. On the other hand, the two-time winners have won only eight, and one game ended in a no-result in 2009. Chennai hasn’t lost two back-to-back games in a season against Kolkata since the inception of the Indian T20 League. Talking about their clashes in the final, Kolkata won in 2012 and registered their maiden ITL title win. Their next clash in the final came in season 2021 which Chennai won.

Matches Played Chennai Won Kolkata Won Tie No Result
26 17 8 0 1

All-Time Top Performers from both sides:

Suresh Raina is the highest run-getter in the Chennai vs Kolkata clashes with 610 runs. The likes of MS Dhoni (442) and Faf du Plessis (423) are second and third highest respectively. Among the bowlers, Sunil Narine has picked up the most wickets (20). Ravichandran Ashwin (16) and Ravindra Jadeja (16) are the joint highest wicket-takers, while Dwayne Bravo (12) is the third-highest. This year, things will be a little different for some of these players. Suresh Raina won’t feature in this season, while the likes of Plessis and Ashwin will play for Bangalore and Rajasthan respectively. Notably, Ashwin hasn’t played for Chennai after 2015.

Chennai vs Kolkata: How they fared in their last encounter

Both teams last met in the final of the 2021 season in Dubai. The MS Dhoni-led side batted first and scored 192/3 in the 20 overs. Faf du Plessis hammered 86 runs off 59 deliveries. Robin Uthappa and Moeen Ali chipped in with valuable contributions of 31 and 37 runs respectively. In reply, Kolkata openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer smashed fifties but the Eoin Morgan-led side were restricted to 165/9.

Chennai vs Kolkata in All Seasons Stats:

Tournament Venue Winner Margin
2021 IPL Dubai CSK 27 runs
2021 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 2 Wickets
2021 IPL Mumbai CSK 18 runs
2020 IPL Abu Dhabi KKR 10 Runs
2020 IPL Dubai CSK 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Chennai CSK 7 Wickets
2019 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 Wickets
2018 IPL Chennai CSK 5 wickets
2018 IPL Kolkata KKR 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2015 IPL Kolkata KKR 7 wickets
2014 IPL Ranchi CSK 34 runs
2014 IPL Kolkata KKR 8 wickets
2013 IPL Kolkata CSK 4 wickets
2013 IPL Chennai CSK 14 runs
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2012 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 wickets
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2011 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2011 IPL Kolkata KKR 10 runs
2010 IPL Kolkata CSK 55 runs
2010 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2009 IPL Cape Town
2009 IPL Centurion KKR 7 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2008 IPL Kolkata CSK 3 runs