Indian T20 League 2022: Match 49- Bangalore vs Chennai- Preview, Playing XI, Pitch Report and Updates

By Alan

May 3, 2022

The southern derby of the Indian T20 League 2022 will see Chennai play against Bangalore in the 49th match. The game will be contested at the MCA Stadium in Pune, where Chennai has performed well in recent games. While Chennai has not had a good season, they did win their last encounter against Bangalore by 23 runs. With a 50% win percentage, Bangalore is fifth in the points table after ten games. Chennai, on the other side, is ninth in the standings with three victories in nine games.

Team Updates


The men in red have not been at their best in the recent games. They have lost their last three games, and the root cause has been their average batting. They have seen a couple of batting collapses, which is not a great sign for the team. Bangalore will try to solve their batting woes  in the next game. Dinesh Karthik, who has been the most consistent performer this season, has also struggled in the previous three games.

Faf du Plessis, Virat Kohli, and Glenn Maxwell have all been inconsistent. They are the team’s most important players and will need to elevate their game. Bangalore’s bowling, however, has seen on incline over the past few games. Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Harshal Patel have done well so far, and would like to keep it going. Mohammed Siraj, who looked out of place early on, is also catching up with others.

Players to watch out for

Wanindu Hasaranga- Wanindu Hasranga is the highest wicket taker for the team this season. He also is in contention to win the purple cap, with 15 wickets in 10 games. He has grabbed key wickets that have proven to be crucial for the team.

Josh Hazlewood- Josh Hazlewood has only played six games this season but has been very effective. He has now taken ten wickets at a 7.6 economy rate. The Australian quick will have to keep this up in the upcoming matches as well.

Probable Playing XI

Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Mahipal Lomror, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood


MS Dhoni has now reclaimed command of the men in yellow. He’s already played one game since resuming leadership and he’s off to a good start. Chennai had a convincing victory over Hyderabad in their last match. Their batting got a tremendous lift, with Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway scoring the majority of the runs in the encounter. They would expect the same in the next match as well.

Chennai’s bowling hasn’t been up to par this season, but they’ve done a lot better to get the results off-late. However, in order to win more games, they must be far more economical. Dwayne Bravo, who missed the last game due to a niggle, might replace Dwayne Pretorious.

Players to watch out for

Ruturaj Gaikwad- Ruturaj Gaikwad hasn’t had the finest season, but he has two half-centuries to his name. Both have come at the MCA Stadium, which also is his home ground. He has scored 237 runs at an average of 26.33 runs this season.

Mukesh Choudhary- In the last game against Hyderabad, Mukesh Choudhary got a four-wicket haul. The 25-year is high on confidence, with 11 wickets in eight games. His economy of 9.82, however, has not been good. He would like to work on this in the next match.

Probable Playing XI

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Mitchell Santner, Dwaine Bravo, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary, Maheesh Theekshana

Head to Head

Stats Matches Won by Bangalore Won by Chennai No Result
Overall 29 9 19 1
Last 5 Matches 5 1 4 0
Indian T20 League 2022 1 0 1 0
Indian T20 League 2021 2 0 2 0

Pitch Report

Compared to other venues in the tournament, the wicket at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium has not slowed down much. The fast bowlers will still come into play early on. The batters will have to take some time to settle in. The team winning the toss will look to bowl first.

Match Details

Date- 4th May 2022

Time- 7:30 p.m (IST)

Venue- Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

Broadcast- Star Sports Network, Disney+ Hotstar