हिन्दी (Hindi)

Indian T20 League 2022: Sachin Tendulkar picks his best XI of the tournament

By BetBarter Staff

May 31, 2022

The league debutants Gujarat defeated Rajasthan on Sunday to lift their maiden Indian T20 League title. The Hardik Pandya-led side had brilliant performances throughout the season, which reaped the results in front of their home crowd at the Narendra Modi Stadium in the final.

While the season witnessed some unexpected performers, it also saw the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli struggle to get runs under their belt. In the meantime, former Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar has picked his combined XI from the Indian T20 League 2022.

The veteran cricketer named Hardik Pandya the captain as he led Gujarat to the title. For the opening spot, Tendulkar selected Jos Buttler and Shikhar Dhawan. Buttler had a brilliant season as he won the orange cap for scoring 863 runs, while Dhawan was a consistent player for Punjab.

KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, David Miller, and Liam Livingstone comprised the middle order. All four players had outstanding seasons. Rahul scored over 600 runs while leading Lucknow. Meanwhile, everyone praised Hardik’s all-round ability. This season, he scored nearly 500 runs and took eight wickets.

As for Miller, he had the best season of his Indian T20 League career, scoring 481 runs in 16 matches at an amazing average of 68.71 and a strike rate of over 143. Livingstone, on the other hand, was hitting sixes with ease throughout the season. He even struck a massive 117-metre six.

“(Livingstone) has the ability to hit sixes, a dangerous player. He is very clear in his mind and backs himself. Dinesh Karthik showed extraordinary consistency this season. I felt he looked calm and composed. He looked in control,” Sachin said while speaking on his YouTube channel. Karthik was selected as the finisher of the team. Throughout the season, he had the highest strike rate of 183.33, scoring 330 runs in 16 matches at an average of 55.

Despite Mumbai’s poor season, the Master Blaster included Jasprit Bumrah in his XI. He took 15 wickets in 14 outings, and was credited with a remarkable fifer against Kolkata. Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Rashid Khan completed the bowling attack. All of these performed admirably for their respective teams.

Sachin Tendulkar’s best XI

Jos Buttler, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (C), David Miller, Liam Livingstone, Dinesh Karthik, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal