हिन्दी (Hindi)

Indian T20 League: Punjab vs Bangalore – Head to Head Records & Stats

By BetBarter Staff

March 26, 2022

On March 27, Punjab and Bangalore will face each in their tournament opener. Both teams are yet to win the Indian T20 League title. Punjab has played one semifinal in 2008 and a final in 2014. Apart from these two seasons, they have finished outside of playoffs. Bangalore, on the other hand, has played three finals in 2009, 2011, and 2016. Apart from this, they have played a semifinal in 2010 and Qualifier Two in 2015. Both teams will start their campaign at the D.Y. Patil Stadium.

Punjab vs Bangalore Head to Head:

The teams have faced each other in 28 games across 14 years. Both teams have given each other a tough competition, with Bangalore winning 15 and Punjab winning 13.

Played Won by Punjab Won by Bangalore Tie No Result
28 15 13 0 0

All-Time Top Performers with the bat and ball among both teams:

Chris Gayle has scored the most runs (873) in Bangalore vs Punjab matches. Notably, he has played for both teams (Bangalore 2011 to 2017) and Punjab (2018 to 2021). Apart from him, Virat Kohli (741), AB de Villiers (718), and KL Rahul (517) are the second, third, and fourth highest run-getters respectively. Rahul is another player who has played for both teams. Among bowlers, Yuzvendra Chahal is topping the charts with 25 wickets, followed by Sandeep Sharma (16) and Piyush Chawla (15). Notably, Sharma has returned to Punjab this year.

Punjab vs Bangalore: How they fared in their last encounter

Both teams played against each other in Sharjah last year. On the sluggish surface, the then Virat Kohli-led side won the toss and elected to bat first. They amassed 164/7, thanks to Devdutt Padikkal (40), Glenn Maxwell (57), and AB de Villiers (23). For Punjab, Mohammed Shami and Moises Henriques took three wickets each. In reply, the then KL Rahul-led side fell short by six runs despite the best efforts from Rahul (39), Mayank Agarwal (57), Aiden Markram (20 off 14 balls), Shahrukh Khan (16 off 11), and Henriques (12* off 9). For the Men in Red and Black, Yuzvendra Chahal took three wickets while George Barton and Shahbaz Ahmed took one each.

Punjab vs Bangalore in All Seasons Stats:

Date Winner Won by Venue
03-Oct-2021 Bangalore 6 runs Sharjah
30-Apr-2021 Punjab 34 runs Ahmedabad
15-Oct-2020 Punjab 8 Wickets Sharjah
24-Sep-2020 Punjab 97 Runs Dubai
24-Apr-2019 Bangalore 17 runs Bengaluru
13-Apr-2019 Bangalore 8 Wickets Mohali
14-May-2018 Bangalore 10 Wickets Indore
13-Apr-2018 Bangalore 4 Wickets Bengaluru
5-May-2017 Punjab 16 Runs Bengaluru
10-Apr-2017 Punjab 8 Wickets Indore
18-May-2016 Bangalore 82 Runs Bengaluru
9-May-2016 Bangalore 1 Runs Mohali
13-May-2015 Punjab 22 Runs Mohali
6-May-2015 Bangalore 138 Runs Bengaluru
9-May-2014 Punjab 32 Runs Bengaluru
28-Apr-2014 Punjab 5 Wickets Dubai
14-May-2013 Punjab 7 Wickets Bengaluru
6-May-2013 Punjab 6 Wickets Mohali
2-May-2012 Punjab 4 Wickets Bengaluru
20-Apr-2012 Bangalore 5 Wickets Mohali
17-May-2011 Punjab 111 Runs Dharamsala
6-May-2011 Bangalore 85 Runs Bengaluru
2-Apr-2010 Bangalore 6 Wickets Mohali
16-Mar-2010 Bangalore 8 Wickets Bengaluru
1-May-2009 Bangalore 8 Runs Durban
24-Apr-2009 Punjab 7 Wickets Durban
12-May-2008 Punjab 9 Wickets Mohali
5-May-2008 Punjab 6 Wickets Bengaluru