हिन्दी (Hindi)

Indian T20 League: Top 10 memes from Delhi vs Mumbai game

By BetBarter Staff

March 27, 2022

Mumbai has continued on with their habit of losing their opening game of a season, which started in 2013. The last time they had won their opening game of the Indian T20 League was way back in 2012. At that time, they had beaten Chennai on the latter's home ground. Since then, they haven't been able to beat any opposition in the ITL in opening game. Notably, they won their first-ever ITL trophy that year.

In the first game of the first doubleheader of ITL 2022, Delhi won the toss and elected to field first. The decision proved to be the wrong one when Mumbai openers, Ishan Kishan and skipper Rohit Sharma (41) stitched a partnership of 67 runs. The latter was caught by Rovman Powell off Kuldeep Yadav. Two overs later, Anmolpreet Singh was taken out by Yadav.

Tilak Varma (22) and Kishan added 34 runs for the third wicket before the former was dismissed by Khaleel Ahmed. Kieron Pollard's (3) innings ended by a spectacular catch by Tim Siefert. The costliest buy of the season, Kishan amassed 81 not out of 48 balls including 11 fours and two sixes. The five-time winners amassed 177/5 at the end of their innings.

In reply, the 2020 finalists scored 30 runs off their first three overs. Murugan Ashwin's twin strikes of Tim Siefert (21) and Mandeep Singh (0) in the fourth over put the Men in Blue and Red on the backfoot. The team lost the wicket of their skipper, Rishabh Pant to Tymal Mills in the next over.

After a while, they were tottering at 104/6, having lost the wickets of Prithvi Shaw (31), Rovman Powell (0), and Shardul Thakur (22). However, the unbeaten partnership of 75 between Axar Patel (38*) and Lalit Yadav (48*) ensured the team crossed the line with four wickets in hand and 10 balls to spare.

Here's the best memes after the Delhi vs Mumbai game