IPL 2020: DC's Kagiso Rabada conquers the Purple Cap with 30 wickets

The Proteas pacer, Kagiso Rabada, gained the Purple Cap of IPL 2020 for taking 30 wickets in 17 matches.

Bet Barter
New Update


The Proteas pacer, Kagiso Rabada, gained the Purple Cap of IPL 2020 for taking 30 wickets in 17 matches. Rabada is the second bowler after Dwayne Bravo's 32 in IPL 2013 for most wickets in a single season.

Kagiso Rabada was potent at the death, picking up most of his wickets during that phase. Rabada and Nortje formed one of the deadliest bowling pairs, playing with a terrifying pace throughout the season.

Jasprit Bumrah failed to take away any wicket in the finals and ended up with 27 wickets. Bumrah finished in the 2nd spot for the Purple Cap race. Trent Boult is No.3 on the list with 25 wickets in 15 matches. DC's Anrich Nortje was fourth with 22 wickets while Yuzvendra Chahal rounded off the top five with 21 dismissals.

Mumbai beat Delhi to become the champions of IPL 2020

Brilliant hostile bowling led by Trent Boult in his first two overs restricted Delhi to 156-7. The New Zealand bowler removed the in-form all-rounder Marcus Stoinis with the first ball in the final match.

The openers Shikhar Dhawan and Marcus Stoinis waved off their campaign facing Trent Boult with the new ball.

MI skipper, Rohit Sharma, led the chase in his 200th IPL appearance to add more gloss to MI's domination.

Iyer and Pant patched the innings with a partnership of 96, but Nathan Coulter-Nile took Pant's wicket for 56.

Trent Boult dismissed Shimron Hetmyer for five runs and ended the match with figures of 3-30 from four overs.

Iyer crossed 500 runs in a season for the first time, but could not lift the maiden trophy.

Sharma and De Kock set a good start with 45 runs in 25 balls before Stonis dismissed De Kock for 20. Next Suryakumar Yadav was run out for 19 in confusion with Sharma.

Rohit Sharma smashed four sixes and five fours in his 51 innings but fell to Anrich Nortje just before the end.

Kishan stood firm with his unbeaten 33 as Mumbai got the better of Delhi for the fourth time this year.

Defending champions Mumbai chased down a competitive total of 157 runs set by DC to pocket their fifth title.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Mumbai Indians Kagiso Rabada IPL 2020 Purple Cap DC vs MI IPL final champions