IPL 2020: Kings XI Punjab beats Delhi Capitals, Pooran and Gayle stars

By Bet Barter

October 21, 2020

Kings XI Punjab are going with full strength in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. They enlisted their third back-to-back win as they beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets with an over to spare. Chasing 165 for the win on a Dubai wicket that helped batsmen for a change, KXIP were helped along by Nicholas Pooran‘s hurricane 53 off 28 and Chris Gayle scoring 25 runs in one over, overshadowed Shikhar Dhawan’s second successive hundred this season in IPL 2020. Dhawan finished unbeaten on 106, turning into the first batsman to hit consecutive hundreds out of a single IPL season. He found very little help at the opposite end as Delhi got done with an under-par score.

In answer, Gayle (29 off 13) attacked newbie Tushar Deshpande, hitting the quick bowler for 4, 4, 6, 4, and 6 out of one over before Ravichandran Ashwin took the wicket. The Gayle show came after KXIP had lost the Orange Cap holder and captain KL Rahul (15) in the third over.

Ashwin’s dismissal of Gayle got another in the over, as a misunderstanding among Pooran and Mayank Agarwal (5), resulted in Agarwal short of his crease. This diminished KXIP to 56 for 3, requiring 109 more runs to win.

Nicholas Pooran scored a brilliant half-century

Pooran compensated for that run-out by pounding the Delhi bowlers to all parts. Pooran raised his second IPL fifty off only 27 balls with six fours and three sixes. He included 69 runs for the fourth wicket in 6.4 overs with Glenn Maxwell (32).

Despite the fact that Pooran and Maxwell were dismissed in the second half of the innings, KXIP had the batting power to guarantee the win and moved to fifth in the points table with 8 points from 10 matches.

Prior, Delhi captain Shreyas Iyer won the toss and batted first. Prithvi Shaw (7) went early again. Dhawan carried on his form from the last match and scored back to back centuries.

Dhawan raised his fifty – his fourth fifty score in IPL 2020 – in only 28 balls. Despite the fact that Iyer (14) and the returning Rishabh Pant (14) didn’t hold for long, the Delhi batsman stayed unbeaten through the innings for the second straight match.

Mohammed Shami was yet again the best bowler for KXIP. He took 2 wickets by giving away 28 runs from his four overs. Maxwell, Jimmy Neesham, and Murugan Ashwin got a wicket each. For Delhi, Kagiso Rabada (2 for 27), Axar Patel (1 for 27), and Ashwin (1 for 27) were efficient.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!