हिन्दी (Hindi)

IPL 2021 auction likely to take place in February

By Bet Barter

January 6, 2021

For quite some time, the Board of Control for Cricket India has been scratching their heads for the resumption of cricket in the country. This also includes the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). India remains as the first preference hosts of IPL. However, the situation in the country regarding the COVID-19 pandemic is still not under control.

Therefore, the BCCI is forthright to moving the tournament to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) once again if required. The previous season took place in the country from September 19 to November 10. The T20 tournament was actually going to take place in March. It had to be delayed by nearly six months because of the coronavirus outbreak that severely shocked the entire world.

It is also known that three stars who played IPL 2020 have decided that they would not participate this year. Chennai Super Kings' opening batsman Shane Watson and Royal Challengers Bangalore's wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel have reported their retirement from all forms of cricket. On the other hand, Dale Steyn will also not be available to play for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2021.

IPL 2021 mini-auction is to take place on February 11

According to reports, the IPL governing council met January 4 to make further decisions on the 14th edition of IPL. It's been known that the trading window has been initiated after the meeting. All the IPL teams have to release players by January 21. As per the reports, a mini-auction is going to take place in the second week of February, probably around February 11.

Previously, BCCI's full-fledged plans were doing the rounds. But due to time restrictions, a mini-auction is most likely to take place next month. However, the upcoming season of the IPL will depend a lot on the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The domestic tournament is to begin on January 10.

Teams will play all the matches at six venues, namely Chennai, Indore, Baroda, Bangalore, Kolkata and Mumbai. The knockout matches are going to take place in Ahmedabad. The players have a great chance to impress the selectors by performing well in the tournament.

In the previous edition of IPL, Devdutt Padikkal impressed everyone after which Royal Challengers Bangalore called him up. As far as the league is concerned, Mumbai Indians are the defending champions. The Mumbai franchise has won the title five times so far.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!