हिन्दी (Hindi)

IPL 2021: Kane Williamson provides an update on his elbow injury

April 22, 2021

Written By,


SRH star batsman Kane Williamson provided an update on his elbow injury after the win over the Punjab Kings. SRH head coach Trevor Bayliss had earlier identified that Kane Williamson needs some more time to get match fit before he takes the field. The New Zealand batsman has also missed out on the Kiwis' home series against Bangladesh. He had suffered a small tear in his left-elbow tendon that was causing him irritation. 

SRH, who lost their first three IPL 2021 games, finally managed to get off the mark after defeating PBKS on Wednesday. Kane Williamson scored 16* off 19 balls to guide his team to a nine-wicket win. Sunrisers Hyderabad lost their first three IPL 2021 matches by close margins. SRH is one of the most consistent performers in the Indian Premier League. They have qualified into IPL Playoffs for the last five years consecutively. However, they have managed to win the title just once, in 2016. With some new recruits on their side, they would want to go a step further than just qualifying for the sixth time.

IPL 2021: SRH are 5th on the points table

Talking about the match against Punjab Kings, chasing 121 runs, Sunrisers Hyderabad started slowly. The side made sure they did not lose early wickets. Opening batsmen David Warner and Jonny Bairstow's 73-run partnership set up SRH's win in Chennai. After David Warner's dismissal, Jonny Bairstow completed his half-century. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson played a crucial knock of 16 runs to guide the Sunrisers Hyderabad home.

Debutant Fabian Allen also impressed in his first match. The youngster bowled four overs for the Punjab Kings and conceded only 22 runs. The Caribbean star also picked up David Warner's wicket. However, the other Punjab Kings bowlers could not trouble David Warner, Jonny Bairstow and Kane Williamson. With this victory, SRH is placed 5th on the points table. David Warner-led SRH is now going to play against Delhi Capitals on 25th April.

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad full squad

David Warner (C), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (WK), Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Kedar Jadhav, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,