'IPL ka 20 crore hota hai, WC ka thoda to jyada kar dete' - Fans react as Prize money for ODI World Cup 2023 gets revealed

ODI World Cup 2023 will commence on Thursday, October 5 with the tournament opener between England and New Zealand in Ahmedabad.

Daniel S
Sep 22, 2023 12:31 IST
New Update
ODI World Cup 2023

The stage is all set for the highly anticipated upcoming ODI World Cup 2023, in India; the marquee international tournament will commence on Thursday, October 5, with the tournament opener between the defending champions, England and the runners-up of the last edition, New Zealand. Both teams will play this match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Meanwhile, in the same line of events, cricket’s governing body has also announced the prize money for this coveted multination tournament. The prize money has been announced for all the stages of the tournament from the champions to the group-stage winners.

Here’s a look at the recently announced prize money for the ODI World Cup 2023:

Champions – INR 33.18 Crores,

Runners-up – INR 16.59 Croes,

Losing teams in Semi-Finals – INR 6.63 crores,

Teams finish at Group Stage – INR 82.94 Lakhs each, and

Winner of each group match – INR 33.17 Lakh.

Notably, it would be after a long time that an ODI World Cup is going to be hosted entirely by India. 12 years back when India hosted the ODI World Cup 2011, they were the co-hosts, alongside Bangladesh and Sri Lanka as well.

Speaking of the hosts, they are currently in action in the ongoing three-match ODI series against Australia. Following the conclusion of this series, they will take on England and the Netherlands in the warm-up matches before the commencement of the main round of the tournament.

India and Australia will start their run in the tournament with their campaign opener against each other on Sunday, October 8 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. India will be eyeing to end their 12-year-long trophy drought in the ODI World Cup since they won it last time in ODI World Cup 2011 in their own backyard. The tournament will include 10 teams, out of which, two teams, Netherlands and Sri Lanka made it to the main edition after playing the qualifiers in Zimbabwe.

Here's how fans reacted to the ODI World Cup 2023 prize money:

#ODI World Cup #ODI World Cup 2023