हिन्दी (Hindi)

IPL return ‘hard to justify’ for Australia players missing tours: Aaron Finch

By Bet Barter

June 19, 2021

Aaron Finch stated that the players who have withdrawn from the series would find it hard to justify going back in the final stages of the IPL 2021. The Australian cricket team has a hectic schedule ahead of the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. They are set to play against West Indies and Bangladesh for 10 T20I games and three ODIs. 

Around seven Australian cricketers have opted out of Australia's forthcoming white-ball tours of Bangladesh and the West Indies. This includes David Warner, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, and Daniel Sams. All the above players were last seen in the 14th season of the IPL. Apart from Steve Smith, all the other players wanted to spend some time with their families after an extended stay in bio-secure bubbles. Australian star batsman Steve Smith is out because of an elbow injury. 

Aaron Finch to captain the second-stringed Australian team against West Indies

The pulling out of the regular players has left Australia with a second-stringed team. This means Dan Christian, Big Bash League stars Ben McDermott, Wes Agar, and Riley Meredith will get a chance to prove themselves at the international level. The Australia selection committee confirmed a final 18-member squad for the white-ball tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh. CA has also stated that the confirmation of the tours is subject to agreement on bio-security arrangements.

A few days back, Australia chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns made it clear that he expects the country's IPL players to withdraw from the Indian Premier League starting mid-September. Australia is also going to host Sri Lanka for 3-match ODI and T20I series in October. Thus, there is a possibility that Cricket Australia completely shuns the idea of allowing its players to return for IPL. Australia is going to play five T20Is and three ODIs against West Indies starting from July 10. After that, the entire team will head to Bangladesh to play five more T20I games in August.

Australia squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Traveling reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha.

Read more articles