हिन्दी (Hindi)

Is BCCI going to question president Sourav Ganguly on his brand deals?

December 26, 2020

Written By,

Ankit Seth

BCCI’s annual general meeting in India could turn out to be stormy if members quiz over president Sourav Ganguly’s brand endorsements. Some deals are in direct competition with the Indian board.

Sourav Ganguly was leading a team of board officials in a friendly game of cricket on Wednesday. The match was held at the newly refurbished Motera stadium in Ahmedabad. All the board members were not willing to commit if they would ask the questions about Ganguly in the meeting. 

Keeping that aside, selection of three posts will take place which includes a BCCI vice-president and two members of the IPL governing council. Rajiv Shukla is likely to return as vice-president, and Brijesh Patel will remain the IPL chairman. Former spinner Pragyan Ojha replaces Surinder Khanna as the representative in the governing council.

Furthermore, the addition of two new teams to the Indian Premier League is also on the agenda. BCCI officials must also update members on talks with the government on tax exemption issues for hosting ICC events. ICC has allotted time till December 3. If the problems are not solved, then the 2021 T20 World Cup will move to UAE.

BCCI has to also notify ICC on its approach of cricket’s inclusion in 2028 Los Angeles Olympics. BCCI’s legal team will also be working on evading coming under the sports ministry if the council is to join the Olympic movement.

Ajit Agarkar favourite to bag selector’s berth

Former Indian fast bowler Ajit Agarkar is one of the prime candidates to bag the selector’s berth from West Zone. He is also the most capped Test cricketer having played 26 Tests and 191 ODIs. The 43-year-old could be the next chairman of selectors.

The Cricket Advisory Committee, led by Madan Lal, will interview all the candidates on Thursday. Sunil Joshi, who has played 15 tests for India, is currently the chairman. Besides him, Harvinder Singh is the other selector from Central Zone.

Apart from Agarkar, former seamer Abey Kuruvilla has also applied from West Zone. Talking about the North Zone, Chetan Sharma and Maninder Singh are the candidates. East Zone has three candidates, that include Shiv Sunder Das, Debashish Mohanty and Ranadeb Bose.

Jatin Paranjpe, Devang Gandhi and Sarandeep Singh have already completed their terms. The newly appointed committee will choose India’s team for the Tests at home against England that begins on February 5.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth