हिन्दी (Hindi)

ITL 2022: Kane Williamson and Abhishek Sharma to open the innings for Hyderabad, confirms coach Muttiah Muralitharan

By BetBarter Staff

February 15, 2022

The complete squads of all the ten teams of the ITL 2022 have been confirmed after the end of the mega auction. There were great some great buys and some surprising buys, which has led to some gaps in teams. A few teams have good squads with all the players required for all roles, but some don’t. Hyderabad falls in the latter category.

One major problem in the Hyderabad team is that they do not have a prominent opener. They do have a few options to fill the spot, but that will take some adjusting to do. Earlier they had David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, and Jason Roy as their rotating openers. Wriddhiman Saha, sometimes, was in the mix too. However, none of them could be purchased by the side this season.

And now, Muttiah Muralitharan- a member of Hyderabad’s coaching department- has confirmed that Kane Williamson and Abhishek Sharma will open the innings in 2022. He said that Abhishek will have a bigger role to play this season.

“Abhishek was pretty much part of our initial plans. He was in and out of the side last season, but we want him to assume greater responsibility this time. We want him to open the batting alongside Kane. That will help us get a good left-hand, right-hand combination at the top,” he said.

He went on to add that the young players will be the face of the team in the future, and they are backing them for the next few years. He hoped that Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg and Abdul Samad contribute to the team heavily.

Hyderabad retained Abdul Samad ahead of the auction for 4 crores, while they rebought Abhishek Sharma and Priyam Garg for 6.5 crores and 20 lakhs respectively in the mega auction.