हिन्दी (Hindi)

Joe Root and Mitchell Starc opt-out of IPL 2021 Mini Auction

February 8, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

Joe Root and Mitchell Starc are not likely to feature in the IPL's upcoming season. Starc last played in the IPL in 2015, for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). The Australian speedster had been a standout player after scalping 20 wickets in 13 games at an average of 14.55 and an economy rate of 6.76. Joe Root, who recently scored a century in his 100th Test, also did not register for the second IPL in a row.

814 players from India and 283 from overseas have enlisted their names for the auction. The highest entries are from the West Indies (56) followed by Australia (42) and South Africa (38). Australian players like Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell were released from their respective squads on the last day of the retention deadline. The other famous players to be released were Chris Morris, Harbhajan Singh, and Aaron Finch. A total of 139 cricketers were retained, and 57 players released.

Experienced players like Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, and Moeen Ali have fixed their base price at Rs 2 crore.

Sreesanth has registered for the auction at a base price of Rs 75 lakh

Players returning from their respective bans like all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and S Sreesanth are among the players who registered for the auction. According to ESPNCricinfo, Shakib listed at the highest base price of Rs 2 crore whereas Sreesanth, who returned to the league after seven years has set his base price at Rs 75 lakh. Left-arm pacer Arjun Tendulkar also enrolled his name in the auction with a base price of Rs 20 lakh.

Hanuma Vihari and Cheteshwar Pujara also registered for the auction. The mini-auction is going to take place a day after the second Test between India and England. 

Kings XI Punjab will head to the auction with the biggest purse available (Rs 53.20 crore), followed by RCB (Rs 35.90 crore), RR (Rs 34.85 crore), CSK (Rs 22.90 crore), MI (Rs 15.35 crore), DC (Rs 12.9 crore) and Rs 10.75 crore each for SRH and KKR.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth