हिन्दी (Hindi)

Joe Root congratulates Team India on Test series win

March 8, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

English Test captain Joe Root applauded team India's win in the Test series. Root scored an astonishing 218 to set up an England win in the opening Test and lead the series. However, India's fightback was no less as all the team members put in their best at different phases of the series. The Indian cricket team has now made it to the World Test Championship finals. The men in blue also reached the top of the ICC Test rankings.

Joe Root praised Virat Kohli and the team for an outstanding series win. India lost the series against England when they toured to the British countryside and have now taken serious revenge at home. All this happened after they were completely outplayed in the first Test in Chennai. Root congratulated the hosts, calling India a top-class team. The England skipper also thanked the country for the hospitality shown throughout the four-match series.

India lost the opening Test by 227 runs as England huddled together with a mammoth first innings total. However, Virat Kohli and Co. bounced back in the second Test to win it by 317 runs. The next Test in Ahmedabad, India won it by ten wickets, and in the ultimate Test once again, they triumphed by an innings and 25 runs.

Ashwin concluded the series with 32 scalps in 4 games and three five-wicket hauls

In the third and the fourth Test, Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin picked up the majority of the wickets as the England batsmen failed to counter the spin threat. In his debut series, Patel scalped 27 wickets, and Ashwin ended with 32 dismissals. Overall, the spin duo claimed 59 wickets in the series.

India will now face the Kiwis in the World Test Championship final on June 18. The final match's location was Lord's initially, but a spike in the number of COVID-19 cases has made the ICC think in a different venue. The next venue is yet to be announced by the officials. 

India and England will face each other in a five-match T20 series starting March 12. England is currently the number one side in T20, while India is third. The Indian team will go into the series with many new faces. Young wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rahul Tewatia will be a part of India's 19-man squad for the five-match T20 series.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth