हिन्दी (Hindi)

Kane Williamson replaces David Warner as Sunrisers Hyderabad captain

May 1, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Sunrisers Hyderabad appointed Kane Williamson as their new skipper for the remaining games of the season. David Warner led the orange army in the first six games. However, the side has had a disappointing start to the tournament. They lost five out of their first six IPL games. Warner has now been replaced by Kane Williamson, who led the Orange Army during the 2018-19 seasons with serenity. Under Kane Williamson, SRH ended as runners-up in the 2018 season. SRH also qualified for the playoffs in the following season.

David Warner guided SRH to a Qualifier 2 finish in IPL 2020

Ahead of the 2020 IPL season, SRH had renamed David Warner as the franchise's skipper. Under his captaincy, the Orange Army won its inaugural title in the 2016 season. The Australian opening batsman was named as SRH captain for the first time in 2015. He continued to hold the top responsibility till the 2017 season before his one-year suspension. Warner was suspended due to the ball-tampering scandal, and then Williamson was handed over the captaincy reins in 2018. While David Warner guided SRH to a Qualifier 2 finish in IPL 2020, the side is seen struggling in the ongoing 14th season of the Indian Premier League. Thus, the SRH team management made a difficult decision of sacking David Warner on Saturday. The officials also shared a statement via their official Twitter handle.

Having secured just one win from six outings so far this season, SRH is presently at the bottom of the points table. The Hyderabad-based franchise will play at least eight more games on the leagues' stage. Last year, the Sunrisers finished third in the IPL 2020 points table. After enduring a slow start, the Hyderabad-based franchise won four of their previous five matches to secure their place in the playoffs. However, they were defeated by Delhi Capitals. David Warner has been the backbone of SRH over the years, and the last IPL season in UAE was no different. The Australian batsman finished as the third-highest run-getter, scoring 548 runs in 16 matches. The southpaw averaged 39.14 while batting at a strike rate of 134.64. The 34-year-old also registered four half-centuries.

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad full squad

David Warner (Captain), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (WK), Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Kedar Jadhav, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh