हिन्दी (Hindi)

Kevin Pietersen wants this bowler to be an all-format player for India

By BetBarter Staff

May 31, 2022

Umran Malik was awarded the emerging player award for his excellent performances in the Indian T20 League 2022. The speedster impressed everyone with his ability to produce quicker deliveries constantly. He even delivered a ball at a speed of 157 kmph, which was the second-fastest delivery of the season. In the final game of this edition, Lockie Ferguson produced the fastest delivery of 157.3 kmph.

Playing for Hyderabad, the 22-year old picked up 22 wickets in 14 matches at an average of 20.18. At first, he did not have the best control over his lines and lengths. However, that significantly improved under the guidance of the team’s fast bowling coach Dale Steyn.

The speedster received praise from all corners, with experts urging his instant inclusion in India’s squad. Kevin  Pietersen is one among them. He was mighty impressed by Malik’s abilities, claiming that he is “a Test bowler.” Pietersen wrote in his Betway 2022 Indian T20 League team of the season, “India should be getting him into their team in all formats straight away.”

After a great campaign with the orange army, Umran Malik earned his maiden Indian call-up. The pacer has been included in India’s squad for the five-match T20 series against South Africa starting 9th of June. It is yet to be seen if he gets a chance to star in the playing XI.

Pietersen included Australia’s Josh Hazlewood in his XI after the Bangalore player finished the edition with 20 wickets. “Yet another player in this team who proves it’s possible to excel in all formats,” he stated. The two openers that made Pietersen’s XI were Jos Buttler and Quinton de Kock, with KL Rahul at number three. The remainder of the batting order comprised of Hardik Pandya, Liam Livingstone, Rahul Tewatia, and David Miller, while the spinners were Ravichandran Ashwin and Purple Cap winner Yuzvendra Chahal.

Kevin Pietersen’s best playing XI of the season

Jos Buttler, Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Liam Livingstone, Rahul Tewatia, David Miller, Ravichandran Ashwin, Josh Hazlewood, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik