‘Khel wo rahe hai… Khilwa hum rahe hai’ – Fans in splits as David Warner practices right-handed batting ahead 1st Test against India

By Daniel S

February 8, 2023

Just ahead of the first of the four-match Test series between India and Australia, the Nagpur surface has become the talk of the two among the cricketing experts, former cricketers, and fans of both teams. The Australian media has already criticized the Indian management by accusing them of playing a ploy against Australia for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Earlier, the senior Australian cricketers David Warner and Steve Smith were seen reading the wicket of Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium ahead of the Test series. The Australian is concerned about the dry spot left on the wicket and speculated it as a strategy against Australia’s top batting order consisting mostly of left-handers.

Meanwhile, the senior southpaw David Warner has been spotted practicing right-handed in the nets ahead of the Nagpur Test against India. The Indian fans being Indian fans, took no time in taking a dig at Australia and David Warner; and also dubbed Australia being ‘trapped’  in the strategies of the Indian management.

Here’s a look at when Warner was spotted practicing right-handed:

Here’s how fans trolled David Warner and Australia:




India squad for the first two Tests of Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia squad for Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Pat Cummins (Captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Here’s a look at the schedule of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

First Test – Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur, 9th – 13th of February 2023

Second Test – Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, 17th – 21st of February, 2023

Third Test – HPCA Stadium, Dharmshala, 1st – 5th of March, 2023

Fourth Test – Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, 9th – 13th of March