‘Made the impossible possible’- Twitter users impressed with Gujarat’s last-ball win over Hyderabad

By BetBarter Staff

April 27, 2022

Gujarat and Hyderabad locked horns  in the 40th match of the Indian T20 League 2022. After winning the toss, Hardik Pandya decided to bowl first at the Wankhede Stadium. With the bat, Hyderabad had a decent start. However, they lost two wickets early on. Mohammed Shami bowled out Kane Williamson (five) in the third over, and trapped Rahul Tripathi (16) LBW in the fifth. Abhishek Sharma and Aiden Markram then built a great partnership for the orange army. They scored 53 runs in the powerplay.

The Sharma-Markram duo attacked with the right intent in the game. Sharma played the role of the attacker, and Markram played the anchor. They added 96 runs. Alazari Joseph gave Gujarat the breakthrough in the 16th over as he dismissed Sharma. He scored 65 runs in 42 balls, with six fours and three sixes in the innings. Meanwhile, Markram also raced to his half-century, but wickets started tumbling for Hyderabad.

Pooran (three) was sent back by Shami in the 17th over and Markram was dismissed by (56) in the 18th over. Washington Sundar (three) was then involved in a run-out trying to steal a quick single. Marco Jansen hit a six in the last over, and Shashank Singh (25) played the perfect cameo with three sixes on the last three balls. Hyderabad set a good total of 196 in the innings.

During the second innings, Shubman Gill and Wriddhiman Saha got the perfect start. Saha was attacking the ball, and Gill gave him the support. They put together a 59-run partnership in the powerplay without losing a wicket in the match. In the eighth over, Umran Malik bowled a bullet to uproot the stumps of Gill (22). The Gujarat openers added 69 runs on the board. In the meantime, Saha completed his maiden half-century of the season.

Malik, on the other hand, had an excellent game. The 22-year old disrupted the Gujarat batting lineup. He got the wicket of Pandya (10) in the 10th over. Saha continued his good innings with David Miller and scored 68 runs in 38 balls, with 11 boundaries and a six. Malik, however, got his wicket in the 14th over. Miller and Abhinav Manohar then followed in two consecutive deliveries. Malik got his maiden five-wicket haul and conceded just 25 runs. Gujarat’s scorecard read 140/5 after 16 overs.

In the middle, Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan, who could hit several balls out of the park, were Gujarat’s only hope. The duo hit some boundaries as the equation came down to 35 runs in two overs. T Natarajan was hit for a four and a six in the 19th over, but did well to concede just 13 runs. With 22 needed in the last over, Jansen was hit for a six on the first ball of the final over. Rashid Khan hit two more sixes against his former team. They now needed three runs on the last ball. Rashid held his nerves and hit the short ball for another six over fine leg to win the match.

Hardik Pandya’s men won the game by five wickets to climb to the top of the points table. Rahul Tewatia remained not out on 40 off 21 balls, with four boundaries and two sixes. Rashid Khan scored an unbeaten 31 runs in 11 balls to win the match.

Here are the top tweets of the day