हिन्दी (Hindi)

Mashrafe Mortaza fails to secure a place in the team for the Preliminary Squad for WI ODIs

By Bet Barter

January 5, 2021

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has gone against picking the previous captain Mashrafe Mortaza in the 24-man preliminary squad for the approaching ODI series against West Indies. The scorn from BCB has put a colossal question mark on Mortaza's future in worldwide cricket. Having made his ODI debut route in 2001, Mortaza was never dropped from the ODI team. He missed a few games in light of constant issues with injuries.

Mortaza was one of the greatest talking points in the development of the squad declaration. The veteran bowler indicated that he is as yet quick to wear the Bangladesh jersey. Mortaza demonstrated his fitness. He was also very good with the ball during the recently Bangabandhu T20 Cup. He got seven wickets in four games including his maiden five-wicket haul in the T20 cricket.

Mashrafe Mortaza gave up Bangladesh's ODI captaincy during the last home series against Zimbabwe. He, nonetheless, clarified that he is not thinking about his retirement. His retirement talks have been doing the round since the 2019 World Cup. He resembled a pale shadow of his typical self in the 2019 World Cup.

Mortaza is still looking to play for his country, but the selectors and the management have gone the other way. With an eye on the 2023 World Cup, the selectors and the team management chose to evaluate others instead of the veteran previous captain. While declaring the squads, the BCB boss selector said that Mortaza comprehended the choice and expressed that he would keep on playing homegrown cricket.

Bangladesh Preliminary Squad for ODI Series:

Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Taskin Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Al Amin Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Md. Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Parvez Hossain Emon, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahadi Hasan, Naim Sheik, Rubel Hossain, Md Mithun, Saif Uddin, Liton Kumer Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Md Mahmud Ullah, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Taijul Islam, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Nasum Ahmed.

Preliminary Squad for Test Series:

Momimul Haque Showrab, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shadman Islam, Mohammed Saif Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mustafizur Rahman, Md Mithun, Taijul Islam, Liton Kumer Das, Qazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.

Read more