हिन्दी (Hindi)

Most expensive overseas players in the history of IPL

February 1, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The Indian Premier League is one of the most enthralling domestic cricket tournaments in the world. All the top cricketers worldwide participate in the mega event. IPL franchises pay considerable amounts to acquire their services. In particular, the overseas players have always been in great demand in IPL auctions.

Legendary cricketers like Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen were among the first players to get giant bids. England all-rounder Ben Stokes has also been in great demand right from day one. But not all foreign cricketers were worth the pay as few of them did not perform as per the expectations. There is just a handful of them who have always done justice to the amount spent on them by their respective franchise. 

Let us have a look at the top 3 most expensive overseas players in the history of IPL:

3. Tymal Mills, 12 crores

Tymal Mills is one of the most expensive overseas players in the history of IPL. The pacer received a 12-crores bid from Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2017 Auction. Mills had impressed everyone with his bowling during England’s T20I series against India. However, the bowler failed miserably in that season as he picked up only five wickets in five-game. The Royals released him from the squad, and he has never returned to the cash-rich league ever since.

2. Ben Stokes, 14.5 crores

Ben Stokes set the stage in the IPL 2017 Auction as he was bought for 14.5 crores by the Rising Pune Supergiant. It was his first auction, and the all-rounder smashed all records. He also became the best-paid international player. However, the English cricketer scored only 316 runs and picked up 12 wickets in the entire season.

1. Pat Cummins, 15.5 crores

Pat Cummins
made headlines by emerging as the highest overseas pick in the history of IPL. Cummins was bought at a whopping amount of 15.5 crores by the Kolkata Knight Riders. Despite spending so much on him, the 27-year-old could only scalp 12 wickets and retain IPL 2021.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth