Mumbai Indians – The usual IPL winners

By Bet Barter

September 28, 2020

Mumbai Indians have won the IPL championship four times – 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. MI is the most successful franchise in the IPL history. The team has reached the playoffs 8 times out of 13 seasons.

In the 2019 season, Mumbai Indians took the title of Champions by defeating the Chennai Super Kings in a thriller match at Hyderabad’s Rajiv-Gandhi International Stadium. They beat CSK By one run in the Final.

The Mumbai Indians have the second-best win percentage in IPl with 57.75, only behind Chennai Super Kings (61.28). In 187 matches, they won 107, lost 78, with 2 Super Over wins. Rohit Sharma is their top run-scorer.

Top scorer for Mumbai Indians – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has been a great success for the Mumbai Indians, with an average of 31,86 running from 139 balls. He scored 28 fifties and has a strike rate of 130.62. Overall, with 4898 runs of 183 innings, Rohit is the third-highest run-scorer of the IPL.

Most wickets for the Mumbai Indians – Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga is also the highest wicket-taker in the IPL with an average of 19.80 wickets out of 122 games. He played with a strike rate of 16,6. It is the most amongst all bowlers in the Indian Premier League.

Sri Lankan legend Jayasuriya still holds the highest individual score for the team. In the previous seasons in the Wankhede Stadium, he hammered 114 of 48 balls, of which nine were fours and 11 sixes against the CSK. This was the highest IPL score for Sanath Jayasuriya.

Sunrisers Hyderabad are MI’s favorite opponent

SRH is the only team that has more losses than wins against the MI (for teams that have played 10 or more matches against the MI). They lost seven out of the 14 matches and won six (46.42 winning percentage) with one that was ending as a draw but again was won by the MI in the Super Over.

When they played in the UAE, in 2014, MI had a hard time adjusting and lost all the five matches.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!