हिन्दी (Hindi)

New Zealand compensate PCB for cancelling Pakistan tour- Reports

By BetBarter Staff

May 19, 2022

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has paid the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) compensation for suddenly cancelling the tour last year in September 2021. Notably, New Zealand had cancelled the series against Pakistan citing security threats as the reason.

New Zealand’s decision angered the players and fans, who had been looking forward to cricket action in Pakistan for quite some time. The Black Caps pulled out of the series just hours before the toss of the first match. England, like New Zealand, elected to pull out of the two-match T20I series in October. These series were Pakistan’s lead-up to the T20 World Cup played in the UAE last year.

As reported by cricket Pakistan, the compensation amount has not been revealed, but according to insiders, PCB will now make large profits from New Zealand’s next year’s visit to Pakistan, which would include 10 white-ball games. The PCB is also expected to accept the invitation of a triangular series with New Zealand and Bangladesh ahead of the T20 World Cup.

“The NZC has invited the PCB for a tri-series in New Zealand in the lead up to the T20 World Cup. We are presently reviewing the invite and will revert to the NZC following a consultation process,” a PCB spokesperson told Dawn.

PCB will confirm the visit to New Zealand after the dates with England are finalised since they are set to visit Pakistan for seven T20Is in October. Meanwhile, in the 2022-23 season, New Zealand will visit Pakistan twice. They will first play two Tests and three ODIs in December 2022-January 2023, followed by five ODIs and five T20Is in April 2023.

Following the incident in Pakistan, the two met in Sharjah for the T20 World Cup 2022, which was held in the UAE. Pakistan defeated New Zealand by five wickets in the super 12 stages. Both teams proceeded to the semi-finals, while New Zealand also competed in the final game. However, they could not win the title as Australia defeated them by eight wickets.