हिन्दी (Hindi)

New Zealand Cricket announces the squads for the West Indies series

November 17, 2020

Written By,

Payel Gosh

New Zealand Cricket has declared its Test and T20I squads for the home cricket series against West Indies. This cricket series will mark the return of international cricket to New Zealand. They last played international ODI cricket in March behind-closed-doors against Australia in Sydney, before the Covid-19 pandemic forced the series to be canceled. On the other hand, West Indies got back to action in July with the Test cricket series in England.

The uncapped Auckland Aces batsman Devon Conway was included in the T20I side. Colin Munro wasn't selected in the squad due to his Big Bash League commitments. New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said that they are looking forward to welcoming Devon for the first time. He is sure that Devon will soak up the experience.

The hosts have rested their skipper Kane Williamson for the upcoming cricket series. In his absence, pacer Tim Southee will lead the team. New Zealand Cricket has left out Trent Boult as well to give him time for Test preparation.

Kyle Jamieson included in the squad

Kyle Jamieson has got his first T20I call. Earlier this year, he made his ODI and Test debut against India. Alongside Tim Southee and Ross Taylor, Jamieson may be available for the first two games before going to the Test squad.

“We’ve had to make a decision on Kane and Trent to prioritize the Test matches, given how important they are to our red-ball team and the fact they both played such big roles in the recent IPL while also managing injuries.

“There’s no secret we’re right in the hunt for the World Test Championship Final following our two-nil win over India and having Trent and Kane fully fit and focussed for the upcoming series will be crucial,” Stead said.

The hosts have some injury concerns as well ahead of the cricket series. Their Test players, Colin de Grandhomme (right foot) and Ajaz Patel (left calf) are sustaining injuries, although New Zealand Cricket has picked them in the 13-man squad. Stead is confident that the team will recover as expected for the cricket series. It's too soon at this stage to say if both will be fit to lay. Nevertheless, the team is hopeful that the next fourteen days will be enough for them to be ready.

T20I Squad of New Zealand

Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Ross Taylor

Test Squad of New Zealand

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

READ MORE Cricket Articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh