हिन्दी (Hindi)

No place for du Plessis, Tahir as South Africa name 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2021

By BetBarter Staff

September 9, 2021

South Africa has announced their squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. The 15-member squad consist of all known faces, who have played for the Proteas in recent times. There was a hint that senior players Chris Morris, Imran Tahir and Faf du Plessis will be back for the tournament, but all three were not named in the squad. 

Keshav Maharaj, the left-arm orthodox spinner, who has featured in 36 Tests and 14 ODIs for South Africa so far has been added to the squad. He is yet to make his debut in T20I and has been named ahead of George Linde, who has managed to sneak in as a reserve. Bjorn Fortuin and Tabraiz Shamsi are the other two spinners in the squad. 

Among pacers, Proteas have gone for Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi. In the all-rounder’s role, they have selected Dwaine Pretorius and Wiaan Mulder. Apart from Quinton de Kock, who is likely to be the primary wicketkeeper, Heinrich Klaasen has also found his name on the list. 

Speaking of the batters, Aiden Markram has made a cut after performing well in some of the recent T20I assignments. Proteas have also called in David Miller, considering his recent form, and experience. Rassie van der Dussen and Reeza Hendricks are the two other batters along with captain Bavuma. 

Apart from Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lizaad Williams have also been picked in the reserves. There will be a bit of talk around the non-selection of Faf du Plessis who recently scored 60-ball 120 in the Caribbean Premier League while Tahir has been in fantastic form with the ball in T20 leagues across the globe. 

South Africa are slotted with England, Australia, West Indies and the two qualifiers in Group 1. They will open their campaign against Australia in Abu Dhabi on October 23. 

South Africa’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021: Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, WIaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen. Reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lizaad Williams