हिन्दी (Hindi)

NZ cricketers reach the UK for England tour and WTC final

May 17, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

The entire New Zealand contingent has arrived in London ahead of their tour of England and the ICC WTC Final against India. New Zealand cricket has confirmed that most of the Test squad and staff had been transferred to hotel quarantine in Southampton. After completing the mandatory quarantine period, they will warm-up for the two-Test series against England. The New Zealand tour of England begins on May 25. It will commence with a practice match. After that, the Kiwis are likely to play a 2-match Test series in England from June 2. The New Zealand cricket board has also named a 20-member squad. It will then be succeeded by two Tests at the Lord's and Edgbaston. Talking about the WTC, the Indian cricket team has won 12 matches and lost 4 games during the tournament, whereas one has ended in a draw.

NZ team will warm up in Southampton for 2-Test series against England

Other New Zealand players like Tim Southee, BJ Watling, Ross Taylor, and Neil Wagner are likely to join the rest squad in Southampton on Monday. Captain Kane Williamson and other players who were part of the suspended Indian Premier League are anticipated to arrive in England later on Monday after flying out of the Maldives. After a successful stint with the English county side Durham, batsman Will Young will join the squad on Monday. He is likely to undergo isolation at Southampton before joining his teammates.

New Zealand's pace bowler Trent Boult is going to join the group later after spending some time with family. As a result, Trent Boult will be missing the first Test against England. He is also doubtful to play in the second match. New Zealand will play the first Test against England at Lord's from June 2. The second Test will commence in Birmingham on June 10. After the test series against England, The Kiwis will then face India in the World Test Championship final in Southampton from June 18. Before the Test series, the Black Caps will also feature in a four-day practice game against Somerset starting May 25.

New Zealand squad

Kane Williamson (C), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Devon Conway, Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh