हिन्दी (Hindi)

NZ thrash Pakistan by 9 wickets to win the T20I series

By Bet Barter

December 21, 2020

NZ is now up 2-0 against Pakistan in the 3 matches T20I series. The Kiwis have now taken an unassailable lead against the Men-in-Green. In their most recent encounter, New Zealand defeated Pakistan by 9 wickets, winning both the match and the T20I series.

The Men-in-Green won the toss and decided to put the Kiwis to field first. Mohammad Rizwan and Haider Ali opened for Pakistan. The former got dismissed for 20 runs while the latter got dismissed for just 4 runs. Tim Southee made quick work of Shafique, dismissing him for a duck. Hafeez then took it to himself and ran riot against New Zealand. In just 57 balls, Hafeez smashed 99 runs which included a total of 10 fours and 5 sixes. With a strike rate of 173.68, Hafeez was Pakistan’s best batsman that day. Pakistan eventually went on to post a total of 163 on the board.

Tim Southee bowled a magnificent spell against the Men-in-Green. In just 4 overs, the Kiwi bowler picked up 4 wickets at the cost of just 21 runs. Neesham and Sodhi also bowled decent spells, both picking 1 wicket each. Post 20 overs, Pakistan’s score was 163/6.

Seifert smashes 84 as NZ win the 2nd T20I

Martin Guptill and Tim Seifert opened for the Kiwis. Guptill got out after smashing a quickfire 21 off 11 balls. Tim Seifert had assistance from captain Kane Williamson, as the duo went on to chase the total. Seifert smashed a superb 84, which included 8 fours and 3 sixes in total. Kane Williamson played a sensible knock of 42, taking chances whenever he got and rotating the strike smartly. With only 5 balls left to spare, NZ chased the total with 9 wickets in hand. For his brilliant spell with the ball, Tim Southee was awarded the Man of the Match.

Seifert is currently the leading run-scorer of the T20I series. In just 2 matches, the Kiwi opener has amassed 141 runs. This puts the New Zealand cricketer in contention to win the Player of the series award.

The last T20I of the series will take place on 22nd December. New Zealand will look to complete a whitewash against the Men in Green. Meanwhile, in Pakistan, it will be more a game of pride. The final T20I will take place at the McLean Park at Napier in New Zealand.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!