One-Day isolation mandatory for the visiting members of state association before IPL 2020 Finale

By Bet Barter

November 2, 2020

After the update of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) inviting the state associations to watch the IPL 2020 finale on November 10, another update has come out that these state associations to undergo one-day quarantine. The period is almost nothing as compared to the six-day quarantine period that players had spent before the tournament started.

At the expense of BCCI, one representative from each of the 34 state associations are ready to visit Dubai and watch the final match of IPL.

The reason for the one-day quarantine explained

BCCI has also shared the reason behind the short duration of quarantine for the representatives. The state associations’ representatives will not be part of any bio-bubble security. Furthermore, they will not travel to Abu Dhabi, where it is mandatory to stay in a 14-day quarantine period.

Any state associations’ representative will have to return a negative Covid-PCR test, 96 hours before traveling to Dubai from India. After the representative will arrive in Dubai, he/she will go through another Covid test. If the reports come out negative again, the state association representative is free to go out after 24 hours.

This rule is not only for the state associations’ representatives, but the BCCI officials will also have to follow these rules as well. These rules are applied for all; including BCCI president Sourav Ganguly, BCCI secretary Jay Shah, BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal, and joint-secretary Jayesh George. On November 3, these people will travel to Dubai and attend the Women’s T20 Challenge. Women’s T20 Challenge is set to commence between November 4 and November 9.

The BCCI has invited just one representative from each state association due to security reasons as well as the expense of the entire arrangement. The most notable person in the invited state association representatives is Mohammad Azharuddin, who is Hyderabad Cricket Association President.

READ MORE Cricket Articles here!