हिन्दी (Hindi)

Pakistan announces dates for their limited-overs series against New Zealand

By Bet Barter

August 5, 2021

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday (August 5) announced the itinerary for its white-ball series against New Zealand starting on Friday (September 17). Both teams will first play the three-match ODI series and then the five T20Is starting on Saturday (September 25). The tour is a historic landmark for the Men in Green, as New Zealand will be playing after 18 years in this part of the world.

The eight white-ball matches are set to be staged in Rawalpindi and Lahore. All three ODI matches are part of the ICC Men’s Cricket Super League ODIs. This series comes at a poignant time for both countries, as the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is slated to be held, from October 17 and, the five T20Is could be used as an ideal preparation time for both countries.

The tour will also mark the start of visiting teams touring Pakistan with New Zealand starting off things in September. Speaking about the same PCB chief executive Wasim Khan was ecstatic to have the Blackcaps on board for the limited-overs series.

“Series against a top-ranked side like New Zealand will be a perfect start to a mouth-watering and highly-exciting home season of red and white-ball cricket. The 2019 World Cup finalists, who are also the World Test champions and ranked third in T20Is, will draw tremendous attraction and interest from the local fans and will reinforce Pakistan’s status as a safe and secure country.”

11 Sep – Arrival in Islamabad

12-14 Sep – Room isolation

15-16 Sep – Training/practice/intra-squad match

17 Sep – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi

19 Sep – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi

21 Sep – 3rd ODI, Rawalpindi

25 Sep – 1st T20I, Lahore

26 Sep – 2nd T20I, Lahore

29 Sep – 3rd T20I, Lahore

1 Oct – 4th T20I, Lahore

3 Oct – 5th T20I, Lahore