हिन्दी (Hindi)

Prithvi Shaw to captain Mumbai in Vijay Hazare knock-outs

March 2, 2021

Written By,

Bet Barter

Opening batsman Prithvi Shaw will captain a 22-member squad for the knock-out phase of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The Mumbai Cricket Association has declared the squad for the knock-outs, which is going to take place from March 7. Mumbai remained unbeaten in the league stage, winning all five matches in Elite Group D.

Prithvi Shaw led India's Under-19 team to World Cup glory back in 2018. He had also captained Mumbai when they played against Puducherry in the league stage of the ongoing tournament. The youngster smashed a record-breaking 227* off 152 balls to guide his team to a massive total of 457/4. With this, Shaw has now entered the elite club of Indians with a double-hundred in List A format. The youngster has now become the seventh Indian batsman after Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Virender Sehwag, Shikhar Dhawan, Sanju Samson, and Yashasvi Jaiswal to score a double century in List A format. Mumbai is one of the favorites to win the title despite the departure of three experienced players.

Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav and Shardul Thakur to depart for national duty

Mumbai will be without the services of regular captain Shreyas Iyer, dynamic batsman Suryakumar Yadav, and pacer Shardul Thakur. These players are going to be a part of the T20 series against England. Apart from Shaw, the Mumbai batting line-up has players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akhil Herwadkar, Sarfaraz Khan, and Shivam Dube. The bowling unit comprises Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Aakash Parkar, Prashant Solanki, Atharva Ankolekar, and Shams Mulani.

Prithvi Shaw made a brilliant start to his international career with a hundred on Test debut in 2018. However, the dynamic opening batsman recently lost his place in India's Test squad. He was out of the team after scoring 0 and 4 in the day-night Test against Australia. But he seems to have retrieved the kind of form that made him a sensation in the IPL. So far, Shaw has scores of 105, 34, 227, 36, and 2 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Mumbai Squad

Prithvi Shaw (C), Yashaswi Jaiswal, Sarfaraz Khan, Akhil Herwadkar, Shivam Dube, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Chinmay Sutar, Hardik Tramore, Aakash Parkar, Tushar Deshpande, Atif Attarwala, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Sairaj Patil, Sujit Nayak, Dhaval Kulkarni, Tanush Kotian, Prashant Solanki, Aman Khan, Siddharth Raut, and Mohit Awasthi

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Bet Barter

In today’s net-savvy world it has become common for any business to have a website which they use mostly for advertising their products and services.