हिन्दी (Hindi)

Rahane joins Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly in the top list of Indian captains after the Sydney Test

January 11, 2021

Written By,


India managed to draw the third match against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Ajinkya Rahane received compliments from the entire cricket fraternity for his excellent captaincy in the ongoing Test series.

Rahane is now the third Indian captain after Kapil Dev and Sourav Ganguly to be unbeaten in his first two Tests as a captain, away home. The visitors won by eight wickets under Rahane's captaincy at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Under Kapil Dev's captaincy, India managed to draw the first two Tests of the 1985/86 Australian tour. When Sourav Ganguly was India's captain for the first time in 2003-04, the Men in Blue drew the Test in Brisbane. Following that, they defeated the hosts by four wickets in Adelaide.

Virat Kohli lost his first Test match as a skipper. But in 2018-19, he became the first Asian captain to win a Test series against Australia away from home.

India impressed with an outstanding performance in Sydney

The 32-year-old captained India from the front with a century at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. In the SCG Test's, Rahane lost his wicket way too early. Furthermore, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, and Ravichandran Ashwin were responsible for avoiding a defeat in Sydney.

All four Indian batsmen showed fantastic composure and resilience as the side ended the innings on 334/5. Both the nations shook hands after the 131st over. With the end of the third test match, the 4-match ICC World Test Championship series between India and Australia stands at 1-1.

Pujara scored 77 runs in 205 deliveries and also smashed 12 boundaries. Pant also slammed 97 from 118 deliveries. His innings consisted of 12 fours and three sixes. The duo's contribution helped India draw the series and looked set for an improbable win. But after the dismissal of Pujara and Pant, India's hopes faded again.

It was Hanuma Vihari and Ravichandran Ashwin who batted for more than three hours. Vihari remained unbeaten after scoring 23 runs off 161 balls. On the other end, veteran spinner Ashwin showed his experience and scored 39-run knock of 128 balls. Josh Hazlewood was brilliant with the ball as he registered two dismissals. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon also claimed two wickets.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,