हिन्दी (Hindi)

Ravindra Jadeja out of the Brisbane Test after sustaining thumb injury in Sydney

By Bet Barter

January 12, 2021

Ravindra Jadeja is out of the fourth test after sustaining a thumb injury on Monday. The southpaw was hit on the thumb by a bouncer from Australian pacer Mitchell Starc. The Indian cricket board stated that the all-rounder had gone for scans and results showed a dislocated thumb. Jadeja will consult a hand specialist in Sydney before travelling back to India. He will be leaving to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further assessment of his injury. The third match of the Border-Gavaskar series ended in a draw, with the series levelled at 1-1.

In the second innings of the third test, Jadeja scored a fighting 28 and did not need to bat in the second innings. He also claimed four wickets in the first innings. Jadeja's exit is another blow for India cricket team in the four-Test series that will come to an end in Brisbane.

Ravindra Jadeja extends the list of injured players

India have lost fast bowlers Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma. Also, KL Rahul was out of the third game as he injured his left wrist. With so many injuries in the squad, India still managed to draw the third test match on Monday. Ashwin and Vihari scored 62 runs in 256 balls. Despite nursing injuries, the duo helped India to 334 for five at the end of the play.

Rishabh Pant also took a nasty blow to his elbow while batting in the first innings. As a reason of which he didn't keep wicket on Sunday and smashed an attacking 97 on the next day. The visitors will have Kuldeep as a spin option to replace Jadeja. Shardul Thakur and T Natarajan can be the suitable pace options to the team management.

One of the braves of the Sydney Test, Vihari is also out of the Gabba Test with a hamstring injury. The middle-order batsman scored 23 runs in 161 balls despite struggling with injury. As per the reports, Vihari will most likely miss the England Test series in India.

The fourth and last battle of the series is going to take place at the Gabba stadium, from January 15-19. The Indian team will then return home for a four-test series against England, starting February 5.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!