हिन्दी (Hindi)

Regulars return as Australia name squad for T20 World Cup

By BetBarter Staff

August 19, 2021

Australia have recalled all their A players in the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. The likes of David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins pulled out of the West Indies and Bangladesh tours as Australia suffered utmost humiliation, losing both series 4-1. Meanwhile, Aaron Finch, who recently underwent surgery to mend his knee, is expected to recover in time and will lead Australia in the showpiece event. Wicket-keeper batter Josh Inglish is the only surprise selection in the team.

The return of big guns comes as a shot in the arm for Australia who have lost five back to back T20I series. The conditions in UAE are very good for the spinners thus Australia have included three wicket-taking options - Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar and Mitchell Swepson, in the side. Fast bowler Nathan Ellis, all-rounders Daniel Christian and Daniel Sams will travel with the team as reserve players.

The West Indies and Bangladesh tours were great opportunities for fringe players to make a case for themselves in the Australian squad for T20 World Cup. However, miserable outings in the series shattered all their hopes. The likes of Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye and Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Moises Henriques, Josh Philippe, and Ashton Turner missed a golden opportunity to represent their country in the marquee event.

Taking about Inglish’s inclusion, chief selector George Bailey was quoted by cricket.com.au:

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts. He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Australia's T20 World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Traveling Reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams