हिन्दी (Hindi)

Rohit Sharma, Pant and Ashwin make it to the ICC Men’s Test team of 2021

By BetBarter Staff

January 20, 2022

ICC has announced the men’s Test team of the year 2021 and Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Ravichandran Ashwin have made the cut. Kane Williamson has been named as the captain of the side. All the listed players have been vital for their respective teams and entertained the audience with their performances in 2021.

Indian Players in the list

Rohit Sharma has become India’s most reliable player ever since he has assumed the role of the opener in Tests. He has performed in home conditions and overseas conditions with the same intent of winning matches. His game has been smart, and has played as per the situation of the game. His recent figures have allowed him to be in the Test team of the year.

Rishabh Pant has put in a lot of effort in his wicketkeeping technique in the last year, which are clearly visible on the field. His batting has also improved, with him taking charge as a proper Test batter. His consecutive knocks at the SCG and the Gabba are enough to describe how much he has come along as a player.

Ravichandran Ashwin has been India’s go-to man in tough situations to take wickets, and he has lived up to the expectations. He is a strategic player and likes to study his oppositions to deceive them, which worked for him this year.

Joe Root’s dominance

Joe Root was the most impactful Test player in the world in Test Cricket in 2021, helping his team win matches. Playing at home and in the typical Asian conditions are two very different things, which he managed with ease. He was the highest run-scorer and nobody even had the chance to come close to him.

Despite a lack of support from his teammates, the English Skipper single-handedly won them a few matches. This speaks a lot about his character as a player. England did not have the best year, but Joe Root had something to look forward to.

As far as the bowling attack is concerned, Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi made the cut while Labuschagne and Fawad Alam formed the part of the star-studded middle-order.

ICC men’s Test team of the year: Dimuth Karunaratne, Rohit Sharma, Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Kane Williamson (C), Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi