हिन्दी (Hindi)

Rohit Sharma returns as India name squads for West Indies series

By Daniel S

January 26, 2022

The India squad for the West Indies series has been announced by the BCCI. The teams are set to cross swords in three ODIs, starting February 6, which be followed by a three-match T20I series. India skipper Rohit Sharma, who had to miss the South Africa series due to injury, has returned to the team. Meanwhile, Ravindra Jadeja is still recovering from the finger injury and thus won't be part of the squads. Ace pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been given a break.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan has retained his place after fine performances on the South Africa tour. Meanwhile, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been dropped from the ODI squad. However, he will be available for the T20Is. Left arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been brought back in the ODI squad. Vice-Captain KL Rahul is available but will join the squad from the second ODI. Axar Patel will be available only for the T20Is. Leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi has been added to both squads, while Deepak Hooda has been included in ODI squad.  Avesh Khan has also been selected in the ODI squad.

T20I squad: Rohit Sharma(Capt),KL Rahul (vc),Ishan Kishan,Virat Kohli,Shreyas Iyer,Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk),Venkatesh Iyer,Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi,Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), D Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan