Rohit Sharma set to become the 2nd player to complete 200 IPL appearances

The Mumbai Indians skipper, Rohit Sharma, is all set to join another elite club of players for a top record of 200 appearances in IPL.

Bet Barter
New Update


The Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma, is all set to join another elite club of players for a top record of 200 appearances in IPL.  Regardless of not having a great season with the bat, he still led his team to the finals of the Dream11 IPL 2020. It will be a great deal of time as Delhi Capitals will be eyeing their maiden trophy whereas Mumbai will defend the title. However, it remains to observe whether Rohit Sharma, who has never lost an IPL final as captain, will keep his record unbroken.

The Mumbai vs Delhi final is also of utmost importance for Rohit Sharma as he is all prepared to add another feather in his cap and join MS Dhoni in an elite list. Rohit Sharma missed few games during the league stage due to a hamstring injury.

Rohit Sharma only missed six IPL matches in his entire career

Rohit Sharma has missed only six IPL matches so far - one for Deccan Chargers and five for Mumbai Indians. Apart from completing 200 games, Sharma is also likely to make Mumbai the second team after Chennai to successfully defend the trophy if they go onto win the 2020 final.

The former wicket-keeper batsman, Dinesh Karthik is third on the list with 196 matches and Chennai star batsman Suresh Raina, who missed the IPL 2020, due to personal reasons, rests at the fourth spot with 193 caps. The Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli is at the fifth spot with 192 appearances so far.

The "Hitman" started his IPL career with Deccan Chargers and played three seasons, winning one title in 2009. He, later on, became a part of Mumbai Indians in 2011. He has always been a vital part of the franchise since then. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai to four IPL titles in seven years.

MI appointed Rohit Sharma as the new skipper after Ricky Ponting stepped down from the post. Ponting left captaincy while playing for the team during the 2013 season. Rohit won the titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. Speaking about his batting performances in the league, Rohit Sharma is the fifth-highest run-scorer in IPL history. He has 5162 runs in 199 matches. The 33-year-old has one century and 38 half-centuries in the tournament so far.

READ MORE Cricker articles here!

rohit sharma Indian Premier League Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals IPL 2020 IPL record DC vs MI Final