हिन्दी (Hindi)

RR needs to improve on overall performance and execute their plans better: Kumar Sangakkara

By Bet Barter

April 23, 2021

RR team director Kumar Sangakkara opines that the franchise needs to enhance overall performances and accomplish its plans better. Royal's 10-wicket defeat against RCB has left them at the bottom of the points table. Sanju Samson's men have failed to perform after posting their only victory of the tournament against Delhi Capitals in their second match. The skipper has fizzled out after a blazing 119 runs against Punjab Kings. Their top and middle-order look fragile with Jos Buttler, Manan Vohra and David Miller's poor form this season.

Bowling has been a major concern for Rajasthan Royals

Bowling has been a massive concern for the inaugural edition champions. Their big buys of the season Chris Morris and Mustafizur Rahman, have struggled to perform consistently. The side is also left with limited overseas options considering Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have been ruled out of the tournament because of injuries. On the other hand, Liam Livingstone has left citing bio-bubble fatigue.

Livingstone was bought by RR in the IPL 2021 mini-auction for his base price of Rs 75 lakh. The 27-year-old did not feature in any of the three games Rajasthan played in IPL 202. After the departure of star all-rounder Ben Stokes, Livingstone had the chances of replacing his teammate in the playing XI. However, the right-handed batsman opted to withdraw from the tournament and head back home.

Rajasthan Royals will next play against KKR on Saturday. A wretched KKR will look to bring their IPL campaign back on track. The team has lost three matches in a row so far. KKR, led by Eoin Morgan, has failed to come together as a unit. The side has slipped to the sixth position in the table after starting the tournament on a high note against SRH. Playing against bottom-placed Rajasthan Royals, KKR will be desperate for a turnaround.


Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (c & wk), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Anuj Rawat, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, KC Cariappa, Kuldip Yadav and Akash Singh.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, Shivam Mavi, Lockie Ferguson, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna, Rahul Tripathi, Varun Chakravarthy, Shakib Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Harbhajan Singh, Karun Nair, Ben Cutting, Venkatesh Iyer and Pawan Negi.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!