हिन्दी (Hindi)

Sam Curran to miss the fourth and final Test against India

February 19, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The England Cricket Board has announced that left-arm pacer Sam Curran will miss the fourth and final Test against India. His absence for the last match could be a matter of concern for the visitors. After the defeat in the 2nd match, England needs to win the remaining games in order to secure a place in the World Test Championship Final.

Sam Curran had to head back home after the Sri Lankan tour as part of England's ongoing rotation policy. The 22-year-old all-rounder was to come to India for the final Test. However, Sam Curran will now travel with England's white-ball squad on February 26. The youngster will undergo a 6-day mandatory quarantine before the 5-match T20I series in Ahmedabad.

Sam Curran hounded team India with his cameos in 2018

The dynamic all-rounder was a crucial factor in England winning the Test series against India at home in 2018. He was also named Man of the Series for his match-changing efforts on several occasions. Curran played the two Tests in Sri Lanka before returning home along with fellow teammates Jonny Bairstow and Mark Wood. Bairstow and Wood have already returned to India and will be available for selection for the pink-ball Test in Ahmedabad. 

Considering the youngster is also in the T20I team, he might be rested again from the ODI series.

Meanwhile, the Indian cricket team has arrived in Ahmedabad. The Test will be a day/night pink-ball contest at the Motera Stadium. The four-Test series is currently at 1-1 after India's 317-run win in the second Test.

Team India squad

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Team England squad

Joe Root (C), Ben Stokes (VC), Jofra Archer, Dominic Bess, Ben Foakes (WK), Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence, Jake Leach, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, James Anderson, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth