हिन्दी (Hindi)

Sanjay Manjrekar names India’s squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

May 19, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Sanjay Manjrekar named his probable playing eleven for the Sri Lanka tour. There are reports that a second-string Indian side will be sent to Sri Lanka while the main Team tours England.

Sanjay Manjrekar picked batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw as his openers. Their partnership as openers was brilliant in the IPL 2021. It is a no-brainer for them to walk into the playing eleven.

At number 3, the 55-year-old backed Suryakumar Yadav. He has been a dependable player for the Mumbai Indians. At number four Manjrekar selects Ishan Kishan ahead of wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson.

It was a surprising call given that Ishan Kishan was dropped by his franchise for a few games in the IPL 2021 season because of his terrible performance. Sanjay Manjrekar however believes he can do justice in the number four spot. It is based on his performance in the IPL 2020. He had scored 516 runs for his franchise.

Another selection that might raise a few eyebrows is that of Manish Pandey at number 5. The Karnataka batsman could not cement his place in the Indian Team. He did get his share of chances to deliver but he could not. He was also dropped by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for a few games in the 2021 season of IPL.

Manjrekar backed Hardik Pandya at number 6 to bowl a few overs. The 27-year-old has been left out of the Test squad. He would be itching to prove his credential as an all-rounder again.

Manjrekar wants the Indian Team to try new faces in the bowling attack

Manjrekar has shown his support for some new faces like Rahul Tiwari and Rahul Chahar. He believes that they can make an impact in the T20Is. Both had an impressive performance in the IPL this season. It had brought them to the limelight. The Sri Lanka tour could be their audition for a place in India’s T20 world cup squad.

Manjrekar wants young left-arm pacer Chetansakariya to make his debut. He also backed experienced pacers like Bhuvnheswar Kumar and Deepak Chahar.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh