Seven more big names from Pakistan cricket players tested positive for COVID-19; PCB reveals

By Bet Barter

June 25, 2020

Seven more players from the Pakistan cricket team have tested positive for the Coronavirus including Mohammad Hafeez and pacer Wahab Riaz.

Mohammad Hafeez
Mohammad Hafeez

A day after, Shadab Khan & Haider Ali had tested positive for the Coronavirus, seven more Pakistan cricketers tested positive. This takes the all-out tally to 10.

“Following the announcement yesterday that three players had tested positive for Covid-19, the Pakistan Cricket Board on Tuesday confirmed that a further seven players and a player support personnel from a total of 35 have tested positive for Covid-19,” the PCB said in a statement.

PCB also said that players and player support personnel, who have tested negative, will assemble in a bio-secure environment in Lahore on 24 June.

Hafeez already had retired from Test cricket in late 2018. He too declared that he will end his Pakistan cricket carrier after the T20 World Cup later this year. In any case, if the ICC tournament is postponed, the all-rounder stays open to expanding his 17-year-long career until the occasion is in the end held. Left-arm fast Riaz, last played a Test for Pakistan in November a year ago.

Other than Hafeez, Riaz, others who tested positive are Fakhar Zaman, Imran Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Hasnain and Mohammad Rizwan. A player bolster staff from an aggregate of 35 has likewise tested positive for Covid-19.

The others who have tested positive in pre-departure testing, will watch self-detachment in their homes and stay under exacting checking. When they complete their base isolate period, the players will experience further testing. The players will be traveled to England on June 28, simply after the two tests come out negative.

Players who have tested positive:

Fakhar Zaman, Imran Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan and Wahab Riaz

Player who have tested negative:

Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmad, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, and Yasir Shah.

READ MORE Cricket News here!