हिन्दी (Hindi)

Shakib Al Hasan snubs PSL 6 to take part in Dhaka Premier League

By Bet Barter

May 13, 2021

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan had decided to skip PSL 6 to participate in the forthcoming Dhaka Premier League. The sixth season of the Pakistan Super League is set to return in the upcoming months. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had approached Emirates Cricket Board for hosting the remainder of the sixth season in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). But recently, the UAE government had announced a ban on travelers from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and Bangladesh due to the rise in COVID-19 cases. The T20 tournament began on February 20, and only 14 matches had been conducted before the league's suspension.

The PCB was in talks with the Emirates Cricket Board to conduct the remaining matches of PSL from June 1. This was also recommended by the NCOA and by the franchise owners as well. United Arab Emirates had also hosted a part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2014. They had successfully conducted the entire IPL 2020. UAE was also the reserve venue for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 if ICC decided to move it from original hosts India due to the COVID-19 surge.

Three players from Bangladesh, including Shakib Al Hasan, were roped by the PSL franchise

Before the Pakistan board resumed talks about hosting the sixth season of the PSL, three players from Bangladesh, including Shakib Al Hasan, were roped by the PSL franchise. Shakib, Mahmudullah, and Liton Das are the three cricketers picked by PSL teams during the replacement draft. However, as per the recent progress, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib has opted to feature in DPL and skip PSL 6.

Shakib Al Hasan did not feature in the last season of the Dhaka Premier League due to a ban. However, he is now free to represent any franchise in the upcoming season of the tournament. Mohammedan Sporting Club is trying to do everything it can to acquire the all-rounder's services, subject to clearance from the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). The Dhaka Premier League is going to start on May 31. It will be played in the T20 format instead of the usual 50-over format. The last season of the tournament was called off after just one round of matches due to the COVID-19 outbreak. However, the officials have stated that they will put in their best efforts for the smooth conduct of the competition.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!