हिन्दी (Hindi)

Shikhar Dhawan to lead India in Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Series

By Bet Barter

June 12, 2021

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the squad for India's upcoming tour to Sri Lanka. The Indian cricket board has selected 20 players in the team and five net bowlers. Indian opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan has been handed over the captaincy of the young team in the 3-match ODI series and the 3-match T20I series. All the matches of the tour are going to take place at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named as the vice-captain of the team during the tour of Sri Lanka. In addition, youngsters Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, and Ruturaj Gaikwad are also in the 20-member squad. Talking about the bowling department, BCCI has selected Varun Chakravarthy, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham as the spinners. Also, Chetan Sakariya who had a great IPL 2021, has earned a spot on the team.

Rahul Dravid to coach Team India on Sri Lanka tour

The agenda for the three-match ODI series and as many T20I games between both the teams have been confirmed. The three One Day International games will take place on July 13, 16, and 18. On the other end, the T20I series will take place on July 21, July 23, and 25. The team traveling to Sri Lanka will definitely miss the services of regular players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and many more. None of the players who are currently a part of the WTC final and the England Test series will be part of the Sri Lanka series.

Legendary Indian batsman and current NCA head Rahul Dravid will be the coach of the team India. He will travel with the Indian limited-overs team that will play the six-game series against Sri Lanka in July. This will be his second involvement with the senior cricket team. The former Indian cricketer had previously worked with the team as its batting consultant during India's England tour in 2014.

India's squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Devdutt Padikkal, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Kuldeep Yadav, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Sandeep Warrier, Simarjeet Singh

Read more articles