हिन्दी (Hindi)

Smriti Mandhana becomes the first player to score 50+ runs in 10 consecutive ODI chases

March 10, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Smriti Mandhana made history by becoming the first-ever player to score 10 successive 50-plus scores in ODIs while chasing. The Indian opener performed wonderfully with the bat against South Africa women's team on Tuesday.

After losing the first of the 5-match One Day International series, Mithali Raj and Co. bounced back stronger in the 2nd match. The Women in Blue outclassed the visitors by nine wickets at the Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium.

Mandhana added another feather into her cap with a match-winning performance. Continuing her scoring-spell in the 50-over format, the 24-year-old notched up another half-century to enter put her name in the history records. Mandhana is the only women cricketer in the history of the game to achieve this feat on the international level. The cricketer has now surpassed Suzie Bates by scoring her 10th successive 50-plus score in an ODI match on Tuesday. No other player managed to record as many as ten 50-plus scores while chasing in ODIs.

Jhulan Goswami awarded Player of the Match

Talking about the match, the Indian cricket side led by Mithali Raj was under pressure after losing the first match of the series at the hands of the South African women's team. Asked to chase a total of 158 in 50 overs, India lost Jemimah Rodrigues in the fifth over. However, Mandhana and Punam Raut and shared an unbeaten 138-run stand for the second wicket to help the hosts defeat South Africa by 9 wickets.

Mandhana was the top-scorer for India with a quick-fire 80 off just 64 deliveries. Senior pacer Jhulan Goswami picked up four wickets and leaked 42 runs in her 10 overs. She won the Player of the Match honor for her brilliant performance with the ball.

With the easy win over South Africa, the Indian cricket team has now equaled the 5-match ODI series 1-1. The third ODI match will be played on March 12 in Lucknow.

India Women Squad

Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Mithali Raj (C), Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sushma Verma (WK), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Priya Punia, C Prathyusha, Sweta Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Monica Patel

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh