हिन्दी (Hindi)

South Africa announce 16-man squad for T20I Series against India, Mumbai batter gets maiden call up

By BetBarter Staff

May 17, 2022

South Africa has announced their 16-man squad for the T20 series in India. Temba Bavuma is all set to lead the team for the first time since the 20-20 World Cup 2021 played in the UAE. The five-match series is set to go underway on the 9th of June. Delhi will host the first match of the series, followed by Cuttack, Visakhapatnam, Rajkot and Bangalore.

Tristan Stubbs has got his maiden Proteas call-up after recently impressing everyone in the domestic games. Also, all-rounder Wayne Parnell has been called up for his first T20I since 2017. He’d want to make the most out of this opportunity. Anrich Nortje has also returned to the national squad after recovering from an injury. The team will expect a good performance from him in the series. Most of the regular players have found their way to the squad as well.

In an official release, CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang stated that playing the the Indian T20 League 2022 is a massive advantage to the Proteas players. “This is the Proteas like we have not seen them in a long time. The injection of the IPL players means that we will have a team that’s ready to fire on all cylinders immediately and has vast experience in the conditions that we will be playing in,” he said in a statement.

“Tristan Stubbs is an exciting prospect and we’re keen to see what he’s made of and we are looking forward to the return of the experience of Reeza (Hendricks), Klaasie (Heinrich Klaasen) and Wayne Parnell to join the likes of Temba (Bavuma), Tabraiz (Shamsi) and Keshav (Maharaj),” he added.

The T20 World Cup 2022 is just a few months away. The T20 series against India will begin their preparations for the mega event.

South Africa’s squad for T20i’s against India

Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen