हिन्दी (Hindi)

South Africa announced the 18-man squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan

January 20, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The South African cricket board have declared an 18-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan. The Proteas side would be leaving for Pakistan after completing the Test series to prepare for the Tests against Australia. The board also announced wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen to lead the Proteas team for the three-match T20 series in Pakistan.

From the current squad present in Pakistan, only four players will feature in the game's shortest format. Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde and Lutho Sipamla will be in the T20 squad. The rest of the team will head back to South Africa after the Pakistan tests end on February 8. The team will have to undergo a mandatory Covid-19 quarantine period. They will also have to prepare for a home series against Australia.

CSA director of cricket, Graeme Smith, stated that the selection was done for the team to fully prepare for a home Test tour against Australia and also have an exciting T20 series in Pakistan. In the 18-member squad for the Pakistan tour, Okuhle Cele, Ryan Rickleton and Jacques Synman have been included in the national team for the first time.

South Africa emphasising on T20 World Cup: Victor Mpitsang

South Africa's chief selector, Victor Mpitsang, is not concerned about not having the most experienced side for the upcoming T20 encounter against Pakistan. The board is looking forward to the forthcoming 2021 edition of the World Cup. They want to try out all youngsters and be fully prepared for the world cup. He feels that it will be an excellent chance for the youngsters to perform their best at the highest level.

Talking about Pakistan's women's team, they are also going to play with the South Africa women's team in three ODIs and as many T20Is. The first encounter between the two teams is likely to begin from January 20. All the matches are going to take place at the Kingsmead in Durban.

On the other end, the South African men's team will play the Tests in Karach Rawalpindi. The remaining T20Is games are going to take place at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The visitors are currently fifth in the ICC rankings for T20I teams, and Pakistan is on the fourth spot.

South Africa's T20I squad

Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Nandre Burger, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jacques Snyman, Glenton Stuurman.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth