हिन्दी (Hindi)

Sri Lanka announce squad for T20I series against India, Bhanuka Rajapaksa dropped

By Alan

February 21, 2022

As the three-match T20I series against West Indies is over, India are all set to play three T20Is against Sri Lanka at home. For the same, the emerald island recently announced their squad. However, Bhanuka Rajapaksa has been surprisingly dropped at the last minute.

The batter was a member of the squad that recently played the five-match T20I series in Australia. According to the recent reports, he has been dropped due to fitness issues. The 30-year-old was recently in the news as he had announced his retirement from international cricket.

He had cited familial obligations for his decision. However, in just ten days, he withdrew his retirement. He said that he will play for Sri Lanka in the “years to come”. SLC issued a statement for the same as well.

“Pursuant to a meeting with the Hon. Namal Rajapaksa – Minister of Youth & Sports and after consulting with the National Selectors, Bhanuka Rajapaksa has notified SLC that he wishes to withdraw his resignation which he tendered to SLC on 3rd Jan. 2022, with immediate effect. In his letter to SLC withdrawing his resignation, he further states that he wishes to represent his country in the game he loves for the years to come,” read SLC’s statement.

In the meanwhile, off-spinner Ashian Daniel has been added to Sri Lanka’s squad for the three-match T20I series against India. However, Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando and Ramesh Mendis, who sustained injuries, are unavailable for this series.

Nevertheless, Wanindu Hasaranga and Binura Fernando, who had both tested positive for Covid-19, will be available for this series as they have served their seven-day isolation. The T20I series between the two sides is all set to start on February 24. After which, India and Sri Lanka will play a two-match Test series as well.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel