हिन्दी (Hindi)

Sri Lanka announces 18-man squad for Bangladesh Test series

April 20, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Sri Lanka Cricket Board has announced their 18-man Test squad for the forthcoming home series against Bangladesh. Angelo Mathews, who had pulled out during the ODI series in the West Indies citing personal reasons, has returned to the team. Sri Lanka cricket team will be playing against Bangladesh in the two-match Test series starting from April 21, Wednesday. The match is going to take place at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele. Although the Test series forms a part of the inaugural season of the World Test Championship, it holds no significance as India and New Zealand have already qualified for the finals. The final of the WTC is scheduled to take place in England from June 18 to 22.

The Test series starts on April 21 in Pallekele

The Sri Lankan cricket team began their ICC World Test Championship on a positive note. They won their first test against New Zealand. However, after that, the side has not managed to win a single Test match in the competition. Sri Lanka has played Test matches against South Africa, England, West Indies and Pakistan. They have lost all the games. However, the forthcoming Test series against Bangladesh will be their last in the ICC World Test Championship.

Sri Lanka also played against West Indies in a two-match Test series last month. Both the games ended in draws. Meanwhile, Bangladesh squared off against the same opponents but ended up on losing in both games. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this upcoming series will be played in a bio-secure bubble. There would be no spectators allowed in the ground. The Bangladesh cricket team landed in Sri Lanka on April 12, Monday. They recently played an intra-squad practice game as a part of their preparation for the first Test against Sri Lanka in Kandy.

Full Squads

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Lahiru Thirimanna,  Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Ramesh Mendis Vishwa Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga,  Lahiru Kumara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Asitha Fernando and Roshen Silva.


Mominul Haque (C), Ebadot Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithum, Nurul Hasan, Mukidul Islam, Abu Jayed,  Mushfiqur Rahim, Nayeem Hasan, Najmul Shanto, Saif Hassan, Shadman Islam, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Shuvagata Hom, Khaled Ahmed, Taijul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed and Yasir Ali.


Kumar Dharmasena and Ruchira Palliyaguruge.

TV Umpire

Ravindra Wimalasiri.

Match Referee

Ranjan Madugalle.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh